Our team at GPS Law Group has a few different areas of focus, and one of them is traffic law. Our professionals can help you with anything from speeding tickets to DUI charges, but we also want to help drivers avoid the need for our services in the first place. In this article, we’ll go over some key things that you should know about North Carolina traffic law.
- Cell Phone Use- One part of traffic law that all drivers should be aware of are the regulations surrounding the use of cell phones while in the driver’s seat. Texting while the car is in motion is never allowed, whether sending or reading a message, and carries a fine of $100 plus court fees. In addition, drivers under the age of 18 are not allowed to make or take calls while driving except in emergencies, and only if the call is to a parent or spouse.
- Seat Belt Use- Another key part of traffic law governs the use of seat belts. Here in North Carolina, everyone riding in a vehicle must wear a seatbelt, and children under the age of 8 and weighing less than 80 pounds must be secured in a child restraint device. The penalty for child restraint violations is a fine of up to $238 and two points on your license.
- Driving in Work Zones- A third thing you should know about traffic law concerns driving in work safety zones. Specifically, speeding in a work zone carries a fine of up to $250 plus three driver’s license points.